Skip to content
22 / 06 / 2022

Online Conference: Architecture and the Institutions of the EU (27 – 28 June, 2022) 

The conference is open to all but those interested in attending it need to register here.

27 June, 5.30 p.m. UK time (6.30 p.m. CET)
Introduction and chair: Dr Dionyssis G. DIMITRAKOPOULOS (Jean Monnet Chair, Birkbeck)
Dr Sebastiano FABBRINI (University of Venice) in conversation with John PALMESINO (Architectural Association and Territorial Agency)
 

28 June, 1.30 – 2.45 p.m. UK time (2.30 – 3.45 p.m. CET)
The buildings of the European Central Bank and the Court of Justice of the EU Chair: Prof. Sophia PSARRA (University College London) (TBC)

  • Prof. Wolf D. PRIX (Coop Himmelb(l)au)
  • Dr Sebastiano FABBRINI (University of Venice)
  • Mr. Joachim SCHWIERS (Director, Directorate for Buildings & Security, Directorate-General for Administration, Court of Justice of the EU)
  • Prof. Sabine SAURUGGER (IEP Grenoble and College of Europe)

28 June, 3 – 4.30 p.m. UK time (4 – 5.30 p.m. CET)
The buildings of the Council and the European Council (Europa and Justus Lipsius)

  • Dr Philippe SAMYN (Philippe Samyn and Partners)
  • Ambassador Ioannis VRAILAS (Head, Greece’s Permanent Representation to the EU)
  • Prof. Thomas CHRISTIANSEN (LUISS Guido Carli)

28 June, 5 – 7 p.m. UK time (6 – 8 p.m. CET)
The buildings of the European Commission and the European Parliament
Chair: Dr Dionyssis G. DIMITRAKOPOULOS (Jean Monnet Chair, Birkbeck)

  • Mr Francis JACOBS (University College Dublin, and formerly EP Secretariat official)
  • Mr Marc BECQUET (Head of Service, Office for Infrastructure and Logistics in Brussels, European Commission)
  • Ms Leena Maria LINNUS (Director-General for Infrastructure and Logistics, European Parliament)
  • Mr Rainer WIELAND MEP (EP Vice President for buildings)